How to choose Halal foods & seasonings
If you cook dishes according our recipes, it does not mean it can be Halal dishes.
When you actually cook, you need to choose ingredient and seasoning that are not contained raw materials derived from pork and alcohol.
Moreover, you must care for the cooking environment and cooking utensils.
Therefore, on this site, we will provide the below information in reference for those who actually cook.
- The basic choice of each food and seasoning
- Introduction of halal certified materials and seasoning (both of Japanese and from overseas)
- Products which are not acquired halal certification, however, whose raw materials are displayed clear on the food label.
Please refer to more information at Site policy so that you could draw your understanding and consent. Thank you very much.
- Pork absolute prohibition!
- How to choose Meat
- How to choose Dashi (Japanese Broth)
- How to choose Miso
- How to choose Soy sauce
- How to choose Sugar
- How to choose Vinegar
- How to choose vegetable bouillon
- How to choose Mayonnaise & sauces
- How to choose oil
- How to choose Tofu and processed soy foods
- How to choose milk & daily products
- How to choose frozen pie crust
- How to choose ingredients of confection
- How to choose curry roux & curry powder
Seasonings that we should avoid to use
Mirin (Sweet cooking rice wine)
Mirin is one of the Japanese basic seasonings.
However, it is the fermented food made from alcohol, so we cannot use Mirin at all.
Therefore, we have created recipes by using alternative seasonings or devising cooking.
As an alternative seasoning of Mirin, you can use Halal certified Mirin style seasoning, and pure honey.
Sake is often used in Japanese dishes, but you cannot use it for Muslim at all.
The food that contains alcohol in raw materials also can not be used.
When you choose soy sauce and miso, please choose the alcohol additive-free product. (For details, please refer to each page)
Some processed foods incrude the alcohol component as raw material. For example, the skin of dumplings.
Accordingly, you need to check the food label carefully and choose the alcohol additive-free product.